Skip to content

Greenify Your Second Home

April 21, 2010

So, I’m going to be upfront with you as to how I came across this new green tip.  I was watching Live with Regis and Kelly this morning (Yes, it is one of my favorite shows to flip on in the morning; I don’t know those two just put me in a good mood), when I noticed one segment was called Live’s Spring into Gardening Week. I know this blog isn’t about gardening, but today’s segment on Regis and Kelly talked about gardening green.  Green expert Carley Roney is editor in chief of TheNest.com and she gave my two favorite morning talkers some tips on green gardening containers.

But, I decided not to do another article on green gardening, so I went to TheNest.com and found some other green advice.  How about making your car more green! Not the color, but the way you take care of it.  After all, you probably spend more time with your car than you do with your roommate or busy kids.

TheNest.com gives five easy tips.  Here they are:

1. Clean out your trunk: My trunk is pretty empty, but I know my mom’s trunk is quit the opposite.  She has her paperwork stacked up, my brother’s equipment for practice and, of course, a never-ending pile of groceries to feed a family of five.  Clean this out to save on mileage.

2. Smooth driving please: TheNest.com quotes that accelerating and then slamming the brake uses 30 percent more fuel.  I’m guilty as charged with this.  What can I say, I like to feel like I’m a Nascar driver sometimes when I’m blaring my favorite country channel.

3. Under pressure: My car sat idle a few weeks when I was out of town. I came back and immediately filled up the tires.  Yes, it is odd that air is not always free at gas stations, but it is worth looking for the free air pumps and inflating those tires.

4. Let your air flow: If you’re not on the highway and just cruising from errand to errand around town, turn off the AC and crank down the window.  Unfortunately, I tend to crank up the AC while also cranking down the window, but sometimes we fail to be green and it is on this blog that I confess my wrongdoings.

5.  I’m Lost!: Get a GPS so you’re not aimlessly driving all over town.  Mapquest even allows you to look up directions on your PC and text the directions to your phone, so you can glance at them while driving.  But of course, have a passenger read the texted directions to you while you drive.  You wouldn’t read a map and drive, so don’t read a texted map and drive!

Do you have any ideas on how to make your car green? Let me know!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 7:03 pm

    A car that’s in good working order will get better mileage as well. Plus, it will last longer, so you don’t need to get a whole new one.
    If you can combine trips, carpool, or use some other sort of transportation, that’s even better (but not always practical).

Leave a Reply

